Fusilli con crema di noci

Ok, I pretty much have given up on cooking here.

It’s seriously difficult without a car or a Carrefour nearby and I’m simply too American to walk 30 minutes to Porta Palazzo, and then lug BACK 8 bags of stuff uphill, through Giardina Reale, down the Po, across a river and then up a moderately steep hill, while alternating between freezing to death when the winds breezing down from the Alps begin to blow and sweating profusely when the orange Italian sun reflects off of the nearest pale stucco onto your face.

I mean, I easily have the strength and stamina, but I just don’t have the planning skills. And quite frankly, I’d rather pay someone who knows what they are doing to do it for me, instead of eating mediocre crap that I’ve ruined.

And from where did this polemic arise? From this, dear readers:

100_1397

This dish “fusilli con crema di noci” is, I think, my second favorite dish out of everything I have eaten in all of Italy. I nearly had an orgasm during lunch eating it. It was so simple, but with such a perfect balance of sweet and savory. I could have eaten an entire barrel of it. I saw a similar recipe on a new favorite blog: “We Are Never Full”, but I think this one (poorly translated (“thanks, google!”)) is closer to what I had…and I think mine had butter….but who knows…

Fusilli con crema di noci
300 g wholemeal penne
250 ml milk
15 g of wheat flour
40 g shelled walnuts
nutmeg
salt

Bring to boil 200 cc of milk with a pinch of nutmeg and salt.
Separately, dissolve the flour with cold milk and add the sauce to the advanced boiling milk. Bring to a boil again, stirring with a whisk so as not to form lumps. Boil 2 / 3 minutes. Add the bechamel resultant finely chopped walnuts. Cook the pasta in salted water. When cooked toss in pan with the sauce with walnuts and garnish with chopped parsley before serving.

~ by Daniel on October 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

