More Sauce. Quattro Formaggi !

I believe this will probably be the last of the series of sauce postings for the near future.  I have only 9 days left here in Italy, and I must use up the groceries I already have (which won’t make any interesting dishes I think), and I will also be in Genova for two days sans cooking.   Plus, I will be getting back on the healthy train in January, and will once again say a fond farewell  to pasta and bread.

That being said, this sauce is crazy yummy.  It sounded very rich and creamy, but turned out to be quite subtle instead.  Think the opposite of what Olive Garden’s alfredo sauce tastes like.  I (of course) added pancetta to mine, which added some salty meatyness to it.  I also deglazed (I know, right!) the pancetta pan with some white wine which added some acidity to the sauce as well.  All in all, quite delicious, especially after going out dancing the night before (Saturday) until 6 am, and then sleeping until 4 pm.    Speaking of going out:

This is the view from the dancefloor of the disco Fluido.  I wasn’t going to go, but I took pity on crazy roomie, because she was quickly turning into ‘sad roomie’ due to apparently being stood up by the guy she was going to go with.  I didn’t feel like dealing with the crying the next day, so I told her I would go with her.  It was an ok club music-wise…I mean, all house music pretty much sounds the same to me, and I wasn’t really in the mood to dance.  However, the club is right on the banks of the River Po, as you can see, and also has a glass roof so you can see stars while dancing also, so it was quite an experience….  I maaaayyy have had a few too many long islands, because next thing I know I’ve walked home, gone to sleep, and woken up, oh so very hungry.

I spent the day practically in bed, watching way too much Gossip Girl (last night I dreamed I was friends with them and we all went to a party together in matching but very fashionable outfits), the L Word, V, and various other American trash TV.  This resulted in me completely blowing off Michele…but I’m spending all of next weekend with him, so I felt like having a me day.  But back to cheesy goodness:

_____

The recipe below is closest I think to what was in the jar, and comes from another new fave website: Eat Dangerously.

Quattro Formaggi Sauce

25 grams of Gorgonzola
50 grams of Parmesan
100 grams of Mascarpone (or cream cheese)
50 grams of Mozzarella
1/2 pint of light cream
1/2 Stick of Butter
enough ravioli or other pasta for two people
(or see black ravioli recipe above)

Shred all of the cheeses but the marscarpone and toss them together in a bowl. Set aside.

In a pan, melt about a 1/2 stick of butter and then pour in the light cream and bring to a boil. When the cream is beginning to boil, slowly mix in the marscarpone. After it has melted, slowly add the other cheeses giving them time to melt and blend into the cream. The sauce will be ready when all the cheese has been mixed in and it comes to a boil again. If the cheese precipitates out of solution, then cool and add extra mascarpone.

~ by Daniel on November 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
