Genova – Part 1

Oops.  I almost forgot to post about my last weekend in Italy. ..

There have been only two other times when I had what I would consider “fantastic” day-long dates.  All of them occurred while on vacation and away from Atlanta for a variety of reasons….

There was the Seattle guy, whose name escapes me and I can’t remember how I met him, but who gave me a lovely tour of Seattle.   We started with an espresso at B&O Espresso,  then we read books together on Alki Beach, ate at the Public Market, walked around the city and ended up watching the sunset from the top of the Space Needle.  Then we went back to his condo and “watched a movie.”  It was very sweet and very fun, but also strange because we both knew we’d never see eachother again.

The second ‘date’ was on a solo visit to Portland.  I met a guy at a bar by my hotel the first night I was there.  Though this time we began with the “watching a movie” part, the rest was quintessentially Portland.  Yet more espresso in the morning, discussing books at the giant book store, touring the Japanese garden, and riding bikes down the waterfront, eating something vegan I think, talking about art, and then yet more “watching movies.”  I actually would have stayed in contact with him…but he was just a bit too attached to his cats…it was odd.

My point of course being that Genova was just ridiculous.  I’m talking looking at the world through rose-colored-glasses ridiculous.  It was the perfect end to my time.

I stayed at Michele’s the night before, since the train was at 8 am.  I’m not gonna lie.  Michele’s got skills.  As in, Daniel was exhausted the next day and could barely walk skills.  Part of the problem was that I had gotten in the habit of staying up until 4 am writing or watching American movies online, since I decadently slept in everyday thanks to all my lessons being in the afternoon.  So, when laying in bed wide awake and bored…I needed activities to keep me occupied.

Anyway.  The early morning train ride was somber and relaxing.  It was like being on the Hogwart’s Express since the fog was super thick and it looked like the train was floating through the air with the occasional tree or farmhouse visible.  We listened to Michele’s remarkably eclectic iPod, and I ate my little Nutella tart MD gifted me with…

At this point, I was quite done with Turin’s fogginess and cloudiness.  The train wound it’s way around mountains and through tunnels.  And then….BAM!  I had to shield my eyes as we came out of the last tunnel and headed towards the city station.  There wasn’t a cloud in the sky, just a gorgeous sun streaming down upon the glittering sea.

~ by Daniel on January 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
